Sunday Postcard Art – Steam Punk

Sunday Postcard Art have REALLY challenged us this week with Steam Punk. When I think of Steampunk, I think of the Wild Wild West movie, with Will Smith and Kevin Kline. Images of crazy, steam powered contraptions, gentlemen with manners and ladies in gorgeous dresses, full of spunk, are what comes to mind, along with clocks and gears and other exciting engineering things.

I was full of ideas and not really able to pull them all together, so I have two postcards to present.

Steampunk postcard for Sunday Postcard Art

Steampunk postcard

I think I have pulled about half of my craft room out to find all the pieces to fit together for these two postcards.

Credits for “Around the World in 80 Days”
– Round world map (H4476) by Stylish Images
– Maps and Globe (39049) by Stamp Francisco
– Sextant from “Time and space” plate (46C) by Non Sequitur
– Large map stamp by Stamp Mania
– Balloon images from Go Make Something
– Couple image from.. I’m not sure (sorry!)
– writing by me (poor attempt at calligraphy)

Credits for “Measure”
– Compass rossette by Hand Print Stamps
– Cog by Gumbo Graphics Stamp Works
– Pesto and Espresso alcohol inks by Ranger
– Clock Montage from “Time and space” plate (46C) by Non Sequitur
– “M” stamp by Stampers Anonymous
– Steam pressure valve sketch from the Historic Naval Ships Association website
– Rule by Collections

With all of those credits, you can see why I have pulled so much of my stuff out.

I’m off to steam around the other blogs and see what you have been up to!

*smiles*

Michelle

16 responses to this post.

  1. Such an stunning steampunk creation, Michelle!
    Beautifully created.
    Thank you for your participation.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sandy on March 21, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Oh wow stunning steampunk work.
    Fantastic.

    Reply

  3. Posted by yasmindeboo on March 21, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    Both postcards are wonderful.

    Reply

  4. I like both and can imagine the chaos – a similar scene to mine, I’m sure!! Great job!! =)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Hella on March 22, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Beautiful

    Reply

  6. Posted by taluula on March 22, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Love theme both.

    Reply

  7. I love your submissions!!! they look beautiful!!! wonderful work!!!

    Reply

  8. Wow, you really did pull out all the stops! They are both fabulous! Gorgeous flying machines and love the many great stamps you have used. Cheers!

    Reply

  9. Brilliant cards!

    Reply

  10. Both postcards are wonderful!

    Reply

  11. Posted by amy on March 22, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    very cool collage work..very creative

    Reply

  12. Wow, you have been busy! Both pieces are so creative and so have so much detail in. They are both wonderful in their own way (my favourite is the second one).

    Reply

  13. great job on both
    thanks for sharing
    michele

    Reply

  14. Oh, wonderful steampunk design–I just love it!
    I love how you blended romance with the
    steampunk theme–very original and
    worked out fantastic!!!!

    Reply

  15. Fantastic images!

    Reply

  16. Wow, gorgeous images and fantastic steampunk!!

    Linda

    Reply

Leave a comment