Mixed Media Monday ~ Boxing Clever

This month’s challenge over at Mixed Media Monday is all about boxes! I love boxes and have a great collection; some have bits and pieces stored away and some are waiting to be altered or on call for the next school project. One can never have too many boxes.

The box I made for this challenge was made using my new favourite technique; cutting card to size, gluing and then paper mache with old text sheets to give it strength.

A few coats of paint and some varnish finish off the box. Then I embellished it with a few beads, a button and some ribbon.

I will put this box to good use as a gift box for a special person. I have bought a necklace that will fit in it perfectly.

Happy creating,

Michelle

16 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t believe you made the actual box! Going to have to try that! I adore boxes too – my ex said I had “LBF” – little box fetish. 🙂 Vena

    Reply

  2. It takes much more talent to create things in real world 3D then mucking around with a mouse…wonderful work…beautiful box Michelle.

    Reply

  3. Your box turned out beautifully…and I love the color you chose for it. Excellent Project. TFS.

    Reply

  4. Ohh, I like this idea a whole box from scratch and I love the colour. I am sure the recipient will be very pleased with it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by kathy on November 2, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Wow, never made my own box….very interesting! AND beautiful.

    Reply

  6. Beautifully constructed little box. I am sure the recipient will treasure the box as much as the gift!

    Reply

  7. Lovely box!

    Reply

  8. Great box,
    thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  9. this is lovely.. and it shows up better in the larger photo too… reall nice job..

    Reply

  10. Gorgeous box!

    Reply

  11. Fantastic box, love the colour.

    Reply

  12. What a great box! and you made this yourself!! love the colour as well!

    Reply

  13. Wow– thats very clever! I love your little box, its adorable!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Diane on December 5, 2010 at 8:23 am

    it’s gorgeous Michelle – I’m sure the recipient will love it.

    Reply

  15. Wonderful littls box, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

