GPP Crusade No 40 – Step on the Scale

This month marks the 40th Green Pepper Press Crusade and we have been challenged to “Step on the Scales” and up-size or down-size our creations. Michelle Ward is taking us out of our comfort zones again and getting us to make really BIG or really small pieces of art.

I have opted for the “small” end of the scale as my craft table is so messy I can’t fit anything too big at the moment and I also had this cute little box that I wanted to use, so here was the opportunity to make a mini handmade book to fit into it.

The blue background was created last month with our “Pulling Prints” Crusade. I added a little stamp, a few punchies, some text and some pics from a cruise brochure to create the zig zag pages for the mini handmade book. I covered the covers with map wrapping paper. Details on making your own handmade book covers can be found over at Mixed Media Art. I added a small piece of ribbon to make the book easier to get out of the box.

It really was a challenge to work so small – I had to sort through my usual embellishments to find the smaller ones and it was hard to apply glue with the bits so small. This is more like the size I would usually make:

Another challenging part of the process was to get good photos; my little happy-snaps camera had a hard time focusing on the small pages when the light levels were low. I did manage to get a few detailed pictures.

Many thanks again to Michelle Ward to sending these challenges our way!

Happy Crusading, faithful companions.

9 responses to this post.

  1. This is very cool! I love the subtle complexity of the background and the colors are wonderful!

    Reply

  2. This was my first Crusade and I’ve enjoyed visiting the projects of all the participants. You look like an experienced Crusader! What a beautiful accordian book, I love browns and blues together. Happy creations from tj in germany

    Reply

  3. Michelle – this is fabulous!!! Love your colors, and composition. Love that you repurposed your monoprints. Love that you sized the book to fit a box. Love that you showed us the larger size you work in. Thanks for sharing all of it with the street team, especially admitting it was a challenge to work small! Amazing isn’t it? Who would have guessed?

    Reply

  4. Love your little book with snippets of text and small images.

    Reply

  5. It sure is small – and cute! Well done to combine the two crusades like this!

    Reply

  6. Posted by fabricfan on June 2, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    This is so neat, love it.

    Reply

  7. Really sweet project! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  8. Hello Michelle,

    I LOVE small books 🙂
    Stepping out of my comfortzone is making things bigger…
    I like your selfmade background !

    greetings from Belgium
    Inge

    Reply

  9. Wow – you sure did work small. It must have been quite a challenge manipulating all those wee bits. The final mini book looks great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

