Mixed Media Monday – Romance

Romance is the theme over at Mixed Media Monday in the lead up to Valentines Day.

The background for this spread was created back in 2008 as part of the GPP Street Team Crusade (which you can find here). It was done using the Gesso Resistance Technique. Staz On Stone Gray ink was used with Collections stamps (Flourishes Sheet #1) to add the hearts and swirls. The image is from Somerset Studio CD 2006. Purple and pink buttons from Fiskars embellishment collection. Music sheet and gold thread from my vast collection of stuff.

I don’t do a lot of stitching in my mixed media work (well, at all, for that matter) but I wanted to balance the gold thread in the buttons, so I added the stitching to the right side of the image. I’ve also just noticed that I didn’t layer the image to give it a border of black before adhering it to the page… slightly unusual for me, but this way it sits into the page, rather than standing out. The overlaying stamping is also used to tie the pieces together.

I’ve had fun creating this piece this morning – with my youngest son starting school just last week, I’m hoping to have more creative time during the day (and the housework and garden be damned!)

Please add your comments below. I’m off to see what you’ve been up to!

x Michelle

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mixedmediamonday on February 8, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    What a beautiful, romantic piece, Michelle! Diane

    Reply

  2. This is great! I love seeing your detail pictures – it allows me to see all the little bits! Congrats on being featured on MMM last week too: it was so well deserved! Kristin 🙂

    Reply

  3. Oh wow, what an amazing piece! Just spectacular!!!!! And I love the colors and technique….gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. oh wow…so many wonderful layers…wonderful piece!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandy on February 8, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Oh wow this is really romantic.
    Wonderful page. Love them.

    Reply

  6. Posted by johanna on February 8, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    fantastic!! gorgeous colors and i always love when some stitching is involved.

    Reply

  7. It’s lovely! I don’t do much stitching either – can’t even sew a button on without it falling off again a day later!

    Reply

  8. very beautiful and romantic layout

    Reply

  9. I love all the elements you’ve added and the colours are beautiful!! very romantic piece!!

    Reply

  10. Absolutely gorgeous

    Reply

  11. Wonderful–and you’ve captured their romance!

    Reply

  12. Beautiful romantic card.

    Reply

  13. Posted by landileroux on February 8, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Stunning card. I love the soft texture and colors.

    Reply

  14. Beautiful piece !!!

    Reply

  15. Michelle, this is very impressive!!!
    Stunning work.

    Reply

  16. Lovely piece Michele, wonderful colors!

    Reply

  17. What an amazingly lovely use of this technique!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

