GPP No. 61 Restraining Order

GPP Crusade No 61 “Restraining Order” is the last Crusade for a while. Michelle Ward is having a sabbatical from running the monthly Crusades. It is with a “heavy heart” that I post my Crusade contribution.

with heavy heart

How many Crusade techniques can you spot? See below for answer…

GPP No 61 restraining order

Michelle – thank you SO much for expanding our creative horizons and challenging our art supplies and self-imposed limits. I certainly understand how hard it is to fit all of this creativity into our every day lives and I hope, after you’ve had a lovely break, the Crusades will be revived again. I am sure there are a few of us that would be happy to help you out!

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

Crusade techniques included in this piece:

  • gesso
  • credit card painting
  • stencils
  • tissue paper
  • paint colour mixing
  • stamping
  • partial images
  • limited colour pallet
  • and maybe a few others…

Happy Crusading!

16 responses to this post.

  1. I really love this piece….. it has such a bitter sweet feel to it. I love the effect of the gesso and your handwriting for ‘with heavy heart’ is lovely.

    Karen

    Reply

  2. Michelle, this is so sweet. I love your piece – the breathing room, the simplicity, and the restraint…just two corners colored – much more interesting than four, and less predictable. I love seeing the methods you’ve incorporated that we’ve given a whirl on the team. And I love your kind message. You’ve been a constant and enthusiastic team player ever since you found us. Thank you Michelle.

    Reply

  3. Wow ! You used so many of the great techniques and prompts that Michelle has shared in this piece ! It has a lovely Michelle Ward/Crusade feel to it.
    I haven’t been doing the Crusades for a while but really wanted to celebrate this last one with the great artists involved.
    Here’s to the creative life, Crusader ! Onwards !

    Reply

  4. This is beautiful!! I love everything about it – especially the sentiment.

    Reply

  5. I love how you did this! So much texture and ample color, but also plenty of open space too. The red was a perfect color choice for this one!

    Reply

  6. I really love your page. I love the colors, the contrasts, the message, the simplicity. Just perfect…

    Reply

  7. That is beautiful!!! It’s the kind of thing I would put up in my home. And I agree with the sentiment as well. I’m sure whatever Michelle comes up with in the future will be just as great, so I’m glad she’s taking the time to recharge even though we’ll all miss the crusades.

    Reply

  8. Oh, wow! I really really like this! The palette may be limited but the energy is popping off the page!

    Reply

  9. How cool that you identified ll the Crusade techniques in this final piece. Lovely work.
    I always enjoy my “end of month, and the newspaper’s finished blog cruise ‘n comment” time. It’s been lovely to meet you and your work via the Crusades. Thanks for sharing what you do with everyone. May the rest of 2012 be filled with creative happiness for you.

    Reply

  10. Gorgeous page! It’s perfect for the last challenge.

    Reply

  11. Ooh I like this heart! It looks like it’s on grocery bag? Or is it proper Kraft paper? Very lovely interpretation of the Crusade!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Diana Taylor on March 31, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    This is a fabulous piece of work – I love the feeling in it, you’ve really captured what you want to say, and I also love the energy of it. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  13. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I wish you the very best and i hope to meet you somewhere else in this “arty blogworld”.
    Take care!
    Lena

    Reply

  14. Posted by Chris on April 6, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Okay, how genius is THIS!? A great tribute to techniques a la Street Team!

    Reply

  15. I love the effect of the white paint radiating away from the heart, and the way that bold red line anchors the piece. And what a lovely tribute to Michelle and the crusades to incorporate and list the techniques from past crusades. lovely!

    Reply

  16. very nicley done, lov this………. thanks for sharing..

    Reply

Leave a comment